New hobby

MooseTheWizard

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jan 22, 2017
Canada
Wow both eyes huh? Looks like they are just gone?
They were definitely nipped out by something quite awhile ago. There's no injuries remaining, but there's deep sockets. IME when a fish is born without an eye its a much shallower recess.

It looks really freaky, especially as she's coming out of the bacopa. Very prehistoric and predatory looking without the eyes.

jaws7777

Probation Member
Probation Member
Mar 1, 2014
White house 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington
That's good and bad news! It was on sale for $40 CAD in a tank of 'assorted polypterus' that was filled with albino and normal senegals. I had seen it about a week ago and it wasn't really doing well, was crammed under some wood, and I opted not to buy it as I thought it was dead/dying. I saw it again just yesterday and noticed it swimming about, but it had no eyes. I originally thought it was a teugelsi. Bit of a polypterus noob here, I have only ever seen sens, albino sens, teugelsi, and ornates in person.

Asked the guy if he would give me a discount for it being blind, and he said he would give it to me for half price, $20 CAD. So I got a weeksii at 6.5" for $20. No eyes is nbd, I think it makes her look pretty spooky and she still eats and performs normally. Also hand feeds very easily due to not being able to see me.

So, $20 for a weeksii. Good deal?

It's only bad news as my largest tank is a 125 gallon 6'x18". Looks like I'll need to nab her a stock pond once she's a big girl.
I was looking at the pic after my 1st reply and thought i was seeing things... thsts pretty cool that you took it in anyway. Weeksii dont grow fast ...actually on the slow side so you should be fine for a loooooong time. 20 bucks is a great deal for a fish you could have for many yrs butl relative to availability in the area. Where i live it would probably be anywhere from 80 to 100+.