Wet pet in a community tank.

burntrubber

Piranha
MFK Member
Feb 5, 2010
Hi, sort of a cichlid noob here. My last encounter with a group of Sevs ended in disaster. I now have a tank with Lima catfish, Angelfish, Festivus , A large Black ghost knife and a Adonis pleco. I'd like a single birghtly colored Cichlid to go with the mix. Thinking along the lines of a GT or EBJD. Any thoughts on that any other recomendations? It's a 225G tank on a sump filter. Thanks. **Edit, also added a bunch of marbled headstanders recently.

Last edited:

Fishnerd360

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2018
Green terrors I think would be too aggressive with the angelfish. But I think a EBJD would be ok, but that is from my experience. Look into earth eaters, there are some pretty colorful and big peaceful species of them out there. Wait for more replies before buying.

burntrubber

Piranha
MFK Member
Feb 5, 2010
Thanks. Not in a hurry. I don't really want more than one fish because I can't handle the drama from pairings.

Reactions: tlindsey

Serpentine

Piranha
MFK Member
May 17, 2018
You have a lot of peaceful fish in there. You would do best with a gentle community cichlid. Yours are also mostly South American species. A green terror would be several steps up on the aggression scale. So would even an EBJD, which is a Central American cichlid. An electric blue Acara would add a nice pop of color to your tank. They are usually pretty laid back and they stay manageable at around 4 inches.