Can someone tell me what type of flowerhorn this is?

Eøn

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 24, 2021
I was told by the breeder it is a Male kamfa but his kok seems to be very small for a male. He's around 5 inches in size.
This is my first time buying a flowerhorn and this Particular flowerhorn looks amazing so I decided to purchase it.
My tank is still being cycled so he's still with the breeder but I wanted to know what kind of flowerhorn he actually is.

Screenshot_20210225-001958.jpg

Screenshot_20210225-001958.jpg

Reactions: Magnus_Bane

Deadeye

POTM Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2020
Magnus_Bane Magnus_Bane

Reactions: Magnus_Bane

The Masked Shadow

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jul 19, 2020
Southern California (San Diego)
The kok grows. It seems like a male kamfa. I don't believe it is a female. Magnus Bane, am I right?

Eøn

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 24, 2021
Alright...Cool!
He's covered in pearl blue colour I don't know much about it but he looks different from the other flowerhorn like SRD and he was the only one with this colouring so I decided to get him home.
Are kamfa different from normal flowerhorn?
I am new to this so any advise would be really appreciated....
Thank you for your replies

Deadeye

POTM Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2020
Kamfa is just a breed. Flowerhorn is a hybrid cichlid, and they are bred for different colors, kok sizes, etc. Kamfa, Thai Silk, Red Dragon, etc. are all examples of flowerhorn breeds. So besides color and kok size, Kamfas aren’t any different than other flowerhorns.

The Masked Shadow

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jul 19, 2020
Southern California (San Diego)
I agree with what deadeye said. Magnus_Bane is a flowerhorn wizard. He can tell you everything there is to know about them. But to save him the time and effort, look at the mfk archives. There are plenty of things about flowerhorns. What size tank is he in?

Reactions: Deadeye

Eøn

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 24, 2021