5 Years into fishkeeping, and adulthood.

Hendre

Bawitius
Staff member
MFK Member
Jan 14, 2016
South Africa
I realised today that I have been keeping tropical fish for about 5 years now in some capacity, since a few months after I first joined this forum. I started with a 75g and 5g, the bigger one is still running along with two 15g tanks. Have plenty of small aquaria in storage still. It is crazy how much I had to learn and still have to learn for fishkeeping. So many disciplines to work with! I have barely dabbled in breeding for example, or am stumped with anything marine.

Another large growth point is realising how much adult life can interfere with the hobby. I joined as a springy 14 year old with all the time in the world to muck about on forums (See my post count, with 4000+ on other forums). At one stage I was running 6 tanks in my bedroom and keeping all sorts of little critters. But since I went to University I have not been home much and had to downscale (Still have a bichir!) to what my family can take care of while I am away, and instead getting crested geckos to keep me company. It's that thing of having time but no money as a teen, then money but less time as a young adult. This is also noticeable in my lower forum participation. I am impressed with the dedication of members that work full time!

Being at university has impacted my fishkeeping aspirations; botany, photography, and academics fill my time now. I am living vicariously through the forum, writing in magazines (keep an eye out for Muppet, my senegal bichir, in Amazonas!) and learning some tissue culture for aquatic plants, something I hope to write about in a few months. Guess this is an update from a former poster ;)

I am excited to see what I can do with a bit more financial freedom in a few years (probably more bichirs, duh). I am curious to hear how moving into adulthood influenced the keeping styles or freedom of other members :D

jjohnwm

Sausage Finger Spam Slayer
MFK Member