Status
Not open for further replies.

dogofwar

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jan 3, 2006
Maryland
www.capitalcichlids.org
Such market forces would motivate fossil fuel interests to spend lots and lots of money lobbying to maintain the status quo and to discredit climate change.

One thing that occured to me some time ago, and I do believe someone alluded to it in an earlier post, or maybe in a different thread, I can't recall now, is the decision by many global nations to fast forward the electric car programme to drastically reduce future emissions and the dependence on oils, which is fair enough, and expected.

If I was a mass oil producer now and someone said that my business would be in complete turmoil in a couple of decades time because the global demand for petrol and diesel would plummet, then I'd be extremely worried. Maybe even go as far as upsetting the apple cart somewhat!

If you throw the political slant into the mix you could be looking at a severe global upset of sorts as the deadline "cut off" year approaches, maybe we've seen absolutely nothing yet.

Even though it's early days yet regarding the transition period over to complete electric, I wonder how much of the uncertainty now, is indeed down to these huge companies/governments who benefit immensely from their current situation regarding fossil fuel.

Politics, as we know, can be an extremely nasty business.

dogofwar

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jan 3, 2006
Maryland
www.capitalcichlids.org
That's the thing: there really is no actual debate in the business/financial world about what has caused global oil and gas prices to rise.

The only debate is between those who live in reality and those who wish to make up alternate realities/ explanations for higher gas prices for political reasons.