Plumbing questions on 2 Fx6 in a 180 gallon

turbo74pinto

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Oct 30, 2009
Willoughby Ohio
I’m looking for intake and outlet suggestions for a pair of FX6 filters in this 180. My thought is put the intakes in both back corners, 6 or so inches from the substrate. Then have the outlets in the center facing forward. Maybe face them up slightly for some surface agitation. I’m also thinking some sponge pre filters, or something equivalent, would be a good idea to help keep sand out of the filter. This will be a planted tank with 8-10 native Ohio fish including a pair of bullhead. Since I am new to planted tanks, I ordered 2 standard D bundles from Dustin’s aquarium. Any photos and information is appreciated!

D506F3A4-8C45-4337-8DCD-122B71ABDFBA.jpeg

Disturbed.)

Plecostomus
MFK Member
High tech or low tech? If high tech you won't want them pointing up towards the surface unless you have a really big co2 budget. If low tech you want the surface near boiling to get as much co2 into the tank as possible.
The way you suggest the inputs and outputs sounds fine. Or you could put the intakes at the corners and the spray bars along the tops of each side glass to get a gyre effect since you have the big piece of driftwood centered in the tank

Reactions: deeda and tlindsey

deeda

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 26, 2008
Medina, Ohio
Using pre-filter sponges on the FX6 filters can be hit or miss, definitely avoid using fine sponges. They will probably need very frequent cleaning due to the GPH of the filter and can potentially collapse and get sucked into the filter.

What substrate are you using and how fine is it?

turbo74pinto

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Oct 30, 2009
Willoughby Ohio