350 Gallon Tank/Fish Room Overhaul

Multitankitus

Gambusia
MFK Member
Sep 1, 2013
NC
Hello everyone, long time lurker, rare poster here. I've been keeping fish in various aquariums from 10-350g since about 8 years ago.

My larger tank career started with this 90 gallon and a bunch of African Mbuna about a year after setting up my first tank.
IMG_2995.JPG

Soon enough I added a 125 gallon to the mix with mostly South American Cichlids.
2014-6-10 Tanks.JPG
IMG_3446.JPG

About 4 years ago I took it further and added a 350 gallon CA Cichlid tank to my partially finished downstairs.
IMG_3447.JPG

Now this looks more like it huh.
IMG_3448.JPG

Fast forward to today..... I've kept quite a few different species. I've made mistakes and learned a ton. My taste, priorities and finances have evolved to where I'm hitting the reset/upgrade button. Join me as I re-finish the room and completely overhaul the 350 Gallon setup.

The goals are as follows:
- Completely finish the downstairs bonus room and half bath (Was all half finished and just used for fish/storage). That's new floor, new paint, new water heater, new everything.
- Pair down my tanks (already sold the 90) and the 125 is in the garage with all remaining fish piled in. Haven't decided its future yet.
- Substantially upgrade the 350 while partially building it flush with one of the walls, incorporating a drip and auto water change/overflow setup which will be tied into my A/C drain running outside.
- Build new overflows, hard plumbing and new sump setup to accommodate large fish based on my experiences to date.

Reactions: Backfromthedead

krichardson

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jun 19, 2006
Datnoid Island
Looking forward to seeing more photos and great username btw.

Reactions: Multitankitus

Multitankitus

Gambusia
MFK Member
Sep 1, 2013
NC