Aspiring Keeper of Monsters. Howdy, from Idaho!

Jeremy Anderson

Exodon
MFK Member
Dec 4, 2017
Potatoland
hoboflyfishing.com
We actually say howdy here. :D

Since this is an animal keeper forum I'll start by listing my menagerie. I keep some tiny monsters, in the form of a few Apistogramma agassizii. We have half a dozen sweetheart Discus in a community tank with 4 Blue Rams 4 Corydoras and an Ancistrus. I have a few snakes, a Jaguar Carpet Python, five Great Basin Gopher Snakes with mystery genetics, and a pair of quad-het Corn Snakes. The star of the show is still our old Dane/Mastiff puppy princess, Jenny. Just ask her.

I'm new to keeping aquaria, like literally started my first tank this year, but things are going well. I'm now itching for some big New World cichlids that will bite me. I have a lot of experience with reptiles, I kept and bred dozens of species and cared for more than 500 individual animals for a while. I backed off a bit for the last 7 years, and fish are the new thing.

We have great tap water for soft water species and I've always liked them anyway. I've been lurking here for a while soaking up the goodness, and I felt it was time to sign up.

I really want to start a large tank and keep and breed some festae, jags, umbees, hatitiensis and eventually dovii. Keeping critters tends to go hand in hand with breeding them, for me. So I'm going to need some big tanks. I'm patient, I'll get there. I'm interested in learning all about them in the meantime.

Anyway, glad to be here.

I type really fast, and probably because of that, I'm long-winded sometimes. As a reward for putting up with my s#$% here's a picture of my buddy's grouper he caught on a fly rod.
Oh dang, I can't post pictures yet because they are "links" - all good.

Anyone keep grouper? :eek:

Reactions: NathanKS

NathanKS

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 29, 2016
Nor*Cal
Welcome to MFK.