Bacterial Bloom/ Cloudy Water

stiker

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jun 9, 2014
Hello,
I am not new to fish keeping but I am new to having plants in my tanks.
So a bit of a back story. Around about 2.5 weeks ago I removed the fish from my 180G tank (filter is a 40G sump with 2 sponges I placed in there from another tank) to completely redo the tank(the tank has been set up for over 3 years). I took all of the gravel (that had been in the tank for years) out and replaced it with sand. I also removed the driftwood for a few hours in order to glue plants on it. I basically went from a tank with Festae to a Geophagus/Community set up with some plants.

However, I have noticed that the water always seems to have a slight haze to it. It is obvious when looking at the tank straight on and especially when looking from one side to another. Couuld removing the gravel of caused a mini cycle?

I have been testing my water with the JBI Combiset test kit and this is what my results seem to be:
pH: Between 6.5-7
Ammonia: <0.05 (The lowest option on the test kit)
Nitrite: 0.025
Nitrate: 5
kH: 3 dKH
Temperature: 25.2 Celcius
Over test the past 3 days my Nitrate has consistently stay at around 5, and my Nitrite is either 0.025 or 0.05 which is why I am wondering if the tank is undergoing a mini cycle from me completely changing the substrate. Then again I may just suck at matching up the colours.