Blue Acrylic to Black Acrylic background?

SingAlongWithTsing

Plecostomus
MFK Member
May 22, 2015
Inland Empire
Preface: Thinking of drilling a 180 gallon tank I've been given to install a FijiCube LoPro 2400 and I hate the blue background it.

Option 1: Get some 1/8" black cast acrylic panels and silicone em to the back. Kind of worry that the tank bowing will pop the panels off lol.

Option 2: Get some 1/8" black cast acrylic panels and weld em on back. My concern here is if Weld-on 4 would damage old seams. The 1-2 min working time is also a potential problem since I've never used weld on before.

Option 3: Silicone 1/8" black ABS sheets with the textured side facing the old blue background. The concern here would be the textured surface potentially causing a problem with how the bulkheads would seal.

Option 4: Get one big Kydex roll for a seamless look and silicone it to the back. I've seen some reefers mention using Kydex in their tanks (held by magnets) and swap em out for a clean one when they build up too much coraline algae on it. Problem is I can't find a seller that accepts paypal lol.

What would you guys do?

wednesday13

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 2, 2008
The deep south