BOTTOM DRAIN SYSTEM

Arvie

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 15, 2020
Guys im planning a bottom drain system then something flash on my mind incase there will be a power outage or incase my return pump malfunction how will ill be able to prevent it flooding my sump?? Im planning a 250G maintank and 75G sump.

DRUKENMUNKY

Piranha
MFK Member
Dec 25, 2018
I dont recommend drilling the bottom unless it's in a overflow. Too much risk. A faulty bulkhead...power outage etc. I'd consider drilling on sides. You can always pipe it way down and drill a hole at top of pipe to break siphon in case of a outtage.

Arvie

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 15, 2020
Unfortunately someone donate a 250G and it has 2 big bottom hole approx 1 1/2 inch i'm planning to use the 1st hole as bottom drainage and the 2nd one will be close. TBH im fairly new to sump system and i dont even now how will i blocked that 2nd hole. Both hole on the tank are each end one on right bottom and the other one at left middle bottom.

jjohnwm

Sausage Finger Spam Slayer
MFK Member
Mar 29, 2019
Manitoba, Canada
Bottom drains have only one benefit, IMHO, and that is the fact that you can attach different heights of standpipe on top of them in case you might want to change the water level in your tank at some future date. But they are definitely an accident waiting to happen. A stray elbow or a determined monster fish could hit them hard enough to crack or break them and then you have a bona fide disaster. Yes, you could of course build an overflow, but that takes up a lot of room, depending upon the location of the hole. If you are certain that your tank will always be used for fish and will always be filled completely, side-drilling at the top is the way to go.