brachyplatystoma platynemum Aka slobbering cat update

herman moorr

Piranha
MFK Member
May 7, 2016
Bought my original one back in November at 5in. When he arrived he was thin and looked underfed. Started with live Platys and he took to them immediately and eventually started offering krill. When feeding I had to initially drop it near him for him to eat. But he's feeding well now and even seeks food out now during feeding. I just wonder about this fishes growth rate.. seems to be behind brachyplatystoma flavicans in that regard. He's maybe grown 2.5 in length total but has built up in girth tremendously. This is my first time keeping this species and so far it's very nice. Just want to share a couple pics of my original fishes progress. Had 2 others I tried to keep with the original but ended up trading for a jau catfish and a tiger fish for other setups.They don't do well together for the long run as I was noticing torn fins and filaments. Don't know if I'm gonna regret that later but anyway here they are...

IMG_1435.JPG

IMG_1461.JPG

IMG_1044.JPG

IMG_1046.JPG

IMG_1042.JPG

IMG_1467.JPG

thebiggerthebetter

Senior Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Dec 31, 2009
Naples, FL, USA
They are very common in their native habitat.

Anyway, too bad you got rid of the other two (I so love to learn about how a group does) but it doesn't matter. Nice job with this guy. Yes, they appear to grow very slowly. IDK if slower or on par with dorado catfish but same ballpark, it appears IME.

You know I lost mine in 4500 gal. I'm looking to try again.

I hope krill is not the only feed you give it. Mine started with marine baitfish but ended up liking catfish pellets so much that ignored the baitfish. I never offered mine live feeders.

herman moorr

Piranha
MFK Member
May 7, 2016