Building tank in office

JumboShrimp

Feeder Fish
Nov 13, 2017
I'm working on a tank in my business's conference room. I have about 11 feet that I can run, the full vertical wall to use, and about 3 feet I can go out.

I'm planning a plywood build - lots of 2X4 braces, fiberglass seal, and glass front. From what I've read so far, I'm best off limiting the glass to 8 feet long and 3 feet high. The length isn't too bad - by the time I build tank walls and support for the front glass, I'm likely losing less than a foot, so I'll just have a bit more hidden behind the 2x4s up front and still fill the wall length wise. I would prefer to go up to about 4 feet high if anyone can offer a good, safe way to do that. My research suggests 3/4" thickness is good, even without tempering. I'm planning on high clarity 3/4" tempered to be extra safe. (Yes, I'm an over builder!) Would going to 1" allow my extra foot of height?

Your thoughts on this build would be very welcomed.

Then, it is intended to be salt water - sharks, rays, and jumbo fish. I'll put a sump with primary filtration underneath, but also have a room behind where I plan to build a giant protein skimmer. Further ideas for building in the overflow and addressing salt in this setting are even more important than the above.

M@T!@$

Aimara
MFK Member
Feb 23, 2016
Vancouver
I'm working on a tank in my business's conference room. I have about 11 feet that I can run, the full vertical wall to use, and about 3 feet I can go out.