Does anyone keep Geophagus Red Head Tapajos?

Sunny247

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 9, 2020
UK
Hi newbie here! So basically I absolutely love these fish and I really want to keep these. But I’m not sure about the water parameters they have been kept in successfully. I know they’re relatively soft water fish. My water is on the harder side. My actual parameters from the tap are:
PH: 7.4
GH: 12 / 215ppm
KH: 7 / 125ppm

Now I think my tap water is a little too hard for them, has anyone else had any other experience with this?

I’ve been playing with cutting it with RO water and if I do a 40% dilution with RO then my parameters would be:
GH: 7 / 125ppm
KH: 5 / 89ppm

Just wondering if all the extra work to cut it with RO would be worth it? Any advice greatly appreciated!
Thanks

Reactions: tlindsey

RD.

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
May 9, 2007
Northwest Canada
From a previous discussion ...

IME, OH Tapajos are not often prone to HITH, and I have seen them kept here in hard water with pH 8.0+ without issue. Large adult fish.

In his book on eartheaters, Weidner states; "A hardness up to 20 dGH and alkaline water (up to pH 8.0) will not prevent G. sp. Tapajos Orange Head from breeding successfully, and this species does no seem to be particularly susceptible to the skin lesions that commonly occur in Geophagus in harder water."

While I agree with Duane regarding tannins, humic acid, turpines, etc, found in many of these species natural waters, and it's benefit in keeping certain bacteria at bay, with this species, keeping your water clean, and as neutrino suggested, well oxygenated, is key. If you want to add peat, ketapang leaves, etc to your water that's all good and well, but keeping the water free of bacteria build up is most important. While in QT I would also feed them NLS Hex-Shield for a few days as a preventative measure.

Good luck.

neutrino

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jan 22, 2013
Mid-Atlantic, US