Filtration system 10.000 gallon aquarium

Rob Bobbaers

Candiru
MFK Member
Oct 19, 2015
Hi,

I have experience holding small sharks, Scyliorhinus canicula. I was able to keep water clean only by a huge biological fitration system.
As a biologist, I was also involved in shark research, mainly ecotoxicology studies.

As I plan to built a new private house, I also want to realise my dream aquarium of roughly 10.000 gallons.
Dimensions of 17-20 feet in length, 12 feet in width and 7 feet in height. (5-6m x 3.6m x 2.2m). All corners will be rounded.

There will only be a handfull of elasmobranchs in the aquarium. I'm thinking about 2-3 rays and maybe 2 smaller sharks.
As the total biomass will be very low, the pollution of the water will also be very minimal.
I don't have to calculate filtration system as there will be >100 fishes inside.

I'd like to have your opinion on the filtration system I'm thinking of, keeping in mind of the low bioload.

1) Drumfiltration 13.000 gallon/h
2) Biological filtration (8500 ft² active area)
3) Protein skimmer Sander helgoland 700 which has max flow of 9000 gallon/h (34m³/h)
4) UV C lamps (don't know yet how many)

I want to start without the use of ozone.
And I still have no idea on how many current pumps I'll need in the tank.

What do you think?

Kind regards Rob

Reactions: GamerChick5567

Zoodiver

As seen on TV
MFK Member
Aug 22, 2005
South FL
I would stick to something like a pressurized sand filter (bead filter) set up, a large pt skimmer and a commercial sized Emperor Aquatics UV unit. I would also run at least 2 large main pumps or even 4 smaller main pumps depending on how you set it all up. Are you planning on running a sump or everything pulling from and returning to the main tank?

krj-1168

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Aug 25, 2006
Eastern NC
Such an aquarium has a lot of potential for the number of species of sharks and rays.