Getting a big tank

cbfreder

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jun 24, 2006
USA
Hey guys,
New to the ray section, but always wishing. So I am getting some new Ph.D. funding and my life is set quite nicely for a while. I have a 7" black ghost knife in a 29 and I knew I needed to get a bigger tank. So, my GF is getting me a 150 gallon tank--it'll be my first tank with an overflow and a I get to build more sh*t for it. Anyways, I am researching some new inhabitants and after discarding P-bass, I was thinking about a pair of reticulus rays.

I've read quite a few posts, but I am by no means an internet expert. I had a few questions: Are they as hard to care for as some people say? Is this an acceptable match? I am blessed with swamp water--perfect for keeping amazon fish and I keep my water perfect and am used to 50% weekly water changes (with buckets, only three though). Plus, my new apt has utilities included...

Ok next, does play sand count as ray safe? Do they tolerate high flow? Do they need covers (I hate lids)? How large is ray poop (I am used to cleaning knife poop 3x/week, but still)?

Brandon

cbfreder

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jun 24, 2006
USA
I've never heard anything about jumping BGK's. Mine is very calm and only comes to the surface to satiate his incredible appetite.

Brandon

hollywood69

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 7, 2006
virginia
So I am getting some new Ph.D. funding and my life is set quite nicely for a while

what's this you a doctor? if so then figure it out on your own!!!! :) lol, j/k guys that are about to blast me!

you already sound ready, no hood needed for rays, but other fish, its up to you what you get.

retics are hard to get to eat, get motoros! and slap your gf if that 150 isn't at least 24" wide!! that's minimum for owning motoros!

continue your water changing habits, and make sure the ph stays around 6.5
you'll be fine, and yea, as they get big they **** big!

Alex.P

Feeder Fish
Apr 17, 2007
London