Ghost shrimp breeding info needed

Magnus_Bane

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jan 26, 2020
Canton SD
Hi, so I've had a hand full of ghost shrimp in my 55 for about 6 months now. I've got 2 known female that have been carrying eggs for a lil over 2 months now. Honestly my question here would be when will the eggs hatch, as over 2 months seems to me like an incredibly long time imo. Personally I'm not very experienced with crustaceans so this could be completely normal for as much as I know. If anybody else has any experience breeding these shrimp please enlighten me.

Reactions: tlindsey

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Hi, so I've had a hand full of ghost shrimp in my 55 for about 6 months now. I've got 2 known female that have been carrying eggs for a lil over 2 months now. Honestly my question here would be when will the eggs hatch, as over 2 months seems to me like an incredibly long time imo. Personally I'm not very experienced with crustaceans so this could be completely normal for as much as I know. If anybody else has any experience breeding these shrimp please enlighten me.
Every link I have just read said that Ghost Shrimp go through a larval stage. Most suggest Cherry Shrimp for breeding. https://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/threads/breeding-ghost-shrimp.465668/page-2

Reactions: Magnus_Bane

Magnus_Bane

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jan 26, 2020
Canton SD

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Well I was mainly curious as to how long it takes to hatch out eggs. Honestly it's not too important if they end up multiplying or not but it just seemed like over 2 months as eggs is ridiculous amount of time lol.
Yes that's quite some time unless you had hundreds already lol.

Reactions: Magnus_Bane

Magnus_Bane

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jan 26, 2020
Canton SD
Yes that's quite some time unless you had hundreds already lol.