Hello Everyone i need your help with a Pleco

wolfrocco

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2006
Regina sask Canada
Hello everyone i am new to site and i need your help. my pleco has out grown my 30 gallon tank so i have now bought a 90 gallon but i need to transfer him over to my big tank. He hides out in a chunk of PVC pipe 12 '' long and 4 " in dia, i was thinking about using a plastic bin 18 " high and 24" long 15" wide filling it with some water from the tank and then waiting till my pleco goes into his tube and then lifting it up and covering each end with my hands. but another problem i have is my tank is still at my inlaws 15 min away so im worried about the water temp if it drops and also how do i get the pleco use to the temp of the new tank ?

any ideas would be great i have had this pleco for a very long time and dont want to lose him

JD_MAN

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Aug 7, 2005
Indy Anna
Your idea sounds good. As far as acclimating him to the new tank, I would setup a drip into the bin you are transferring him in.

What type of pleco is this? If this is a common pleco, they are pretty strong and it shouldn't have any problems.

guppy

Small Squiggly Thing
Apr 15, 2005
confused, lost, and lonely
Sounds like a good plan and fifteen minutes for transport is not a problem. By the way, welcome to MFK.

red oscar

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2006
JOUSHA TX
common plecos can live thu allmost anything was moveing some fish around one day had one in a log he was out of water at least 1hr and was bone dry and stiff when i found him at the time he was about 3inchs today he is 12 inchs

illustrae

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 25, 2006
NewHampshire, USA