Help with building my arowana a pond

Steven Williams

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jun 9, 2015
I posted a thread on the pond forum a month ago with no replies so hopefully you guys can help me. So I can get immediate answers.

I've never built a pond before and I need lots of tips and advice on how to make it as safe and comfortable as possible for my arowana.
I need help with:
-Insulation tips (how to keep the pond warm as possible)
-Safety (how to animal proof the pond so my fish is safe from cats, cranes, raccoon, possums, hawks, etc)
-Construction choices (either rubber tub dug into ground, pond liner, or wooden frame)
-Any more tips to make it nice
-Materials and detailed construction tips
-Size anywhere between 250 gallons to 400
-Filtration, heating, substrate choice, plant choices
I live in Florida so the winters aren't too cold
Also need help with pond maintenance (how to keep it clean and algae/bacteria free) Also if certain pond chemicals are safe for my arowana and fish that help maintain mosquito control and other insects without being eaten by my arowana since I don't like feeding live fishto it so no mosquito fish sadly (can avoid this if you don't know or have another method for insect and frog/pest control)
Silver Arowana's grow up to 4 ft long, top swimming fish, when scared they jump quite high so also tips on keeping it inside its pond so it doesn't jump out and hurt itself.
Also what plants to put floating?

Also should the angels stay in the tank or go out with the aro?

The pictures are of the aro and the space in which I'm building it.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

justarn

Arapaima
MFK Member
May 24, 2011
Kent UK
Personally I would build on above ground with a glass viewing window. In the UK we can buy complete fibreglass tubs with Windows 1000g up.
I would also cover it, make a lid with a void and fill it with insulation from a builders depot, maybe Kingspan or cellotex.