If Your Polypterus Won't Eat...

Status
Not open for further replies.

dbcb314

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Jun 4, 2007
Tallahassee
[First off, writing about fish is not my forte'. Weightlifting, yes. Fish, no. So bear with me (and my bad grammar) please. Also, I am not an expert or anything close to it. This thread is mostly just to get the ball rolling so to speak. This is a very commonly asked question, and IMO, deserves a sticky. Anne told me to start one since I recommended it be a sticky, so I did. If any of the real experts have anything to add or correct (Anne, Infblue, Cohazard, CDM, Uwe, ect ect ect) please post and I am sure Anne would gladly edit the original post to fix/add things.]

So, your newly acquired polypterus just won't eat. It is ok as it is a very common "problem" for poly owners. Here are some things you should know/do if this is the case.

First Off, CALM DOWN: There is no need to panic or be worried. No fish will starve itself to death if food is present. This is a very basic animal instinct. The poly will eventually get to the point where its hunger will be greater than its stubbornness.

Be Patient: Bichirs can go a long long time without food (as is the case with most predators). They will not die after not being fed for a day, two days, a week, or even longer. I had a measly old Ropefish that went 2 MONTHS without touching a thing. Food would fall right on his face and he would just sit there. You are going to have to be patient with some bichirs, especially if they are used to eating live feeders from a previous owner. You need to train the fish, don't let the bichir train you instead.