My well water showing ammonia? Whats going on?

eddiegunks

Piranha
MFK Member
Mar 6, 2017
Tillson NY
Hi everyone,

I checked my tap water, which comes from my well, as a routine thing. I'm showing trace amounts of ammonia. It has always been zero. How could this be? We've been getting a lot of rain lately could that have something to do with it? Now I'm a little worried.

I'm scheduled for some water changes in the next few days and I'm not sure how to handle that. I am afraid to go get water from the city as I have never used that before and I'm worried about different pH levels as well as Chlorine etc. etc. how about 5 gallon bottled water. Anyone try that?

Suggestions? Should i try treating my water 1st? Or maybe just get city water and dechorinate it?

Thx

Eddie

skjl47

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
May 16, 2011
Tennessee
Hello; I do not have a good answer for which water to use for the WC (water changes), only some thoughts.
First is that eventually current rain will get into the ground water but perhaps not quickly. I have thought that it can take surface water a long time (years to decades even) to seep down and become ground water. Likely a difference between a deep well and a shallow well with the more shallow a well being the more likely to get recent rain sooner.
I guess there can be paths, cracks, faults and such, from the surface down into a well. If so this would raise some concerns as the filtering effect of passing thru the deep rocks and such will be lost.
I was on a well for a number of years. I am thinking it was over 90 ( maybe 120) feet deep. I know it took two of us to pull the plastic pipe in order to replace the foot valve. From time to time the well would fill up and overflow at the well head but it had not necessarily been getting a lot of current rain.