New to these waters

FiremouthGem

Polypterus
MFK Member
Aug 8, 2014
Pennslyvania
Hello all, thought id pop in say hello. I am new to these here waters and strangely noticed been watching waaaay to much pirates of the Caribbean ..:wall: anyhow very intrested in fish keeping and not the little things i have been keeping since i was little feel like i wana try larger animals with more attitude even if i just start out small and work my way up.

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Welcome to MFK :) If you have any questions concerning Firemouths, or any other cichla just ask there are members here that have tons of experience, and knowledge. The Cichlid forum has a lot of information as well :)

FiremouthGem

Polypterus
MFK Member
Aug 8, 2014
Pennslyvania
i have a few questions, and i already have a 30 gallon long cycled with some cheap fish for about 2 weeks and 3 filters which are a over hang up to 70g, a 50g air pump/sponge filter and a 100 g canister filter in, getting some cichlid stones (2) one for each side. anyhow my questions are: would a breeding pair of firemouths be ok in the 30 gallon, i am also setting up a 45-50 gal aquarium which is going to be a show tank but i was told to hold off from my parents (yes i am nearly 24 and still live with my folks) and not to get ahead of myself, and wait which is fine i need to get back to work after i busted my ankle falling down the stairs and make money again. reading some care guides for the last couple of weeks, fire mouths like 70-75 degree water or that to cold?

Matt S

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Feb 7, 2012
Mass