Newbie needing RTC help.

worrelk9

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 2, 2005
Iowa
Hi, I'm a newbie with a question. A week ago yesterday we brought home an 18" red-tail catfish (yah, I know the responsibility involved). We're working on plans for an indoor pond for him but in the mean time he's in a 150 gallon tank. A couple of days ago he stopped eating and acting very lathargic. He would sometimes act like he iched. My trusted LFS said to treat for ick although nothing was visable. I treated with QuickCure and yesterday morning did a 50% water change. He acted no different. He (Felix by the way) has a V shaped area behind each gill that looks like the skin is wrinkled. About 3 this morning I treated the tank with Melafix. He's swimming now but still hasn't eaten his fish. He's in a 150 gallon tank with 2 Emporer 400s, a magnum 350 and a Filstar XP3. Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 20 and PH 8.4. Sorry that this is so long, but my husband is really worried about him.

Oddball

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
MFK Member
Apr 27, 2005
Bama
The pH is too high for this species. I keep my RTC at a neutral pH. The waters they hail from are at a pH of 6.8 to 7.0 with a gH of 8.0.
I'd suggest another water change, to get rid of the meds you don't need, and adjust the tank for a neutral pH. Good luck.
BTW...Welcome to MFK!!!

worrelk9

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 2, 2005
Iowa
Thanks for the welcome. The PH of our water is naturally that high so if we do a water change it will be the same. Do the liquids you can buy to lower PH work?

Blackwater

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 21, 2005
Seventh Gate