Pellets vs Purely Raw Feeding?

Stalker_Loneriff

Exodon
MFK Member
Oct 28, 2016
Hello once again to my fellow Poly keepers. First of all, I'd like to say that I'm new to the world of Polys and Aquarium keeping. I did my homework before getting my Polys and I didn't stop researching after that and I keep learning more and more. I'd also like to say thank you to all those who don't get tired of giving me tips like polyaddict86, tlindsey and many more. I value and respect all the infos given to me by my seniors here in this forum.

But there's one thing that intrigues me. I come from the dog world and currently in the dog world there is a debate whether it is more healthy for our dogs to be fed purely raw food or dog foods.

I usually get tips to mix pellets with raw shrimp, tilapia etc in this fish forums. However as a dog keeper who believes that raw feeding is the way to go as it is the 'biologically appropriate' food for them, I am kind of skeptical about pellets. I was hoping we could discuss fish nutrition in depth in this thread.

predatorkeeper87

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2014
pennsylvania
in theory a pellet is better than just tilapia or shrimp. However I am with the raw diet side of the argument. I believe all carnivores should be fed a raw diet. My ferret only eats raw, be it chicken, rabbit or whatever I have on hand. You have to feed them the entire animal though, it cannot be just the flesh. You need meat, organs, bones, skin and fur/feather. Much the same with fish, they need the entire prey item, not just the flesh.

Hendre

Bawitius
Staff member
MFK Member
Jan 14, 2016
South Africa
They can survive off of pellets. my 70gal predator tank gets pellets as staple, but i feed bloodworm 3/4 times a week and earthworms whenever i have them.

I would say both pelletised and raw foods should be fed to get a good balance in.

Stalker_Loneriff

Exodon
MFK Member
Oct 28, 2016