Planning my first pond, please advise

jarrod13

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 7, 2010
Florida
I'm going to put in an above ground pond in my new place. This will be my first time with a pond, but I have over 10 years of experience with saltwater tanks and planted freshwater tanks, so I know my way around the water. I haven't got to exact dimensions yet but I'm thinking it will be 8x4 or 10x4, something in that range. It will be a rectangle, and I want to have a large window in the front. So here are the first questions I have:
Would cinder blocks be good for the main structure?
What is the best/lowest power usage filter system?
How hard is it to install the glass or acrylic? I'd like it to be the style where the glass goes all the way to the top of the pond and there is nothing on top of the glass.
What thickness liner is needed?

That's all I can think of now, thanks for any answers and feel free to give advice

Reactions: castleswolf

Deadliestviper7

The Necromancer
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2016
Cinder block is better because it last longer,don't bother with rebar u can use concrete,as far as filtration I would run a pump into some 40 or fifty gallon containers filled with pots rubbers and a elephant ear and water arum.

jarrod13

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 7, 2010
Florida
Ok, so with cinder block, do you have to lay a slab down, or can you just use the dirt ground for the bottom?

joe jaskot

Dovii
MFK Member
Sep 16, 2011
Clifton, NJ
The height of the pond will determine what materials you need for the structure. It will also determine the thickness of the glass or acrylic that you need. Think about putting in a bottom drain. It will make life a lot easier. 45 mil liner will last the longest.

fisheatfish

Aimara
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2008
OC, CA