Populating a cichlid tank

Hatch

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 24, 2006
USA
I am just starting out in this hobby. I have a 30 gal. tank set up for cichlids. About 10 days ago I bought two "alunacara" jacob.. something or other common name Eueka Red . The water chemestry is starting to balance out and I am looking for some new tank mates; Any advise? something colorful and not too agressive

beex215

Candiru
MFK Member
Mar 31, 2006
usa
go buy assorted mbunas.there pretty.

SinisterKisses

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 1, 2005
No, do NOT buy 'assorted mbuna'. First off, a 30gal is really too small for most mbuna, the only mbuna I'd hesitantly say to put in there are maybe 3 yellow labs. Secondly, the 'assorted mbuna' tanks are pretty much always hybrids, and the most aggressive mbuna you can find (such as kenyi, and auratus), so they'll just kill each other.

Ash

I dum care =]
Staff member
MFK Member
Jul 27, 2005
Tampa
I completely agree with Sinister on this NO MBUNA!!! plus I wouldnt put them with peacock cichlids anyways. I think you would be best off just adding in other types of aulonocara (peacock cichlids) there are many types and they all different colors and awesome looking fish if thats what you already have. How many cichlids do you plan on putting in that size tank??

revkkoolaid

Gambusia
MFK Member
Apr 29, 2005
Space City, TeXas
www.myspace.com