Possible Cataracts in my Oscars Eye

CaptainAquatics

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Feb 25, 2020
Have you tested your water?
No
If I did not test my water...
...I recognize that I will likely be asked to do a test, and that water tests are critical for solving freshwater health problems.
Do you do water changes?
Yes
What percentage of water do you change?
41-50%
How frequently do you change your water?
Every week
If I do not change my water...
...I recognize that I will likely be recommended to do a water change, and water changes are critical for preventing future freshwater health problems.
Hello All!

BACKSTORY:

So if I am to post here I must admit my faults before I start. For the last year or so I have majorly been uninvolved in the hobby and have been slacking on doing proper care for my aquariums and fish - which I regret and am trying to make right. I have been fishkeeping for over 6 years now and I fully understand the nitrogen cycle, fish illnesses, and how to properly maintain an aquarium.

Recently I have gotten a lot of inspiration in the hobby again and I have been paying much more attention to my fish, I have been attempting to catch up on water changes and general cleaning over the last week or so.

THE ISSUE:

My Oscar (Delta) - who I’ve had for over 5 years jumped out of the tank several years ago while I was feeding him and he injured his eye pretty badly. He, I thought, fully recovered but several months ago I noticed in that same eye a tiny white spot. I wasn’t too concerned as cloudy eye usually affects the entire eye and he was showing (and still isn’t showing) any other symptoms. Present day that spot has grown to envelope almost his entire pupil and I noticed today there seems to be a small pool of blood in his eye.

I just did a 50% water change and did a 50% water change a few days ago as well (he lives in a 130 gallon aquarium).