Question about Magnum 350

Kash

Gambusia
MFK Member
Apr 10, 2012
Lynn Haven, Fl.
I just set-up a 50g tank today and hooked up a Magnum 350 I had gotten from another forum member on it. I have a couple of questions about it. First off, I made sure I filled up the canister as much as I could before putting the lid on, but even though I had heard Magnums are supposed to be quite, it's multiple times louder than my Rena XP3. Is this normal? One other question that I had is about the flow rate. I used a T connector to set-up the bio wheel system on one side of the tank and the regular output on the other side. The flow rate is fairly slow because of the T but there seems to be enough water agitation. From your experience, do you guys think I should do away with the regular output and have all the flow directed to the bio wheels, or will this set up work fine? I've never used bio wheels before and these two seem to sometimes turn all the way around, but usually just rock back and forth really fast which covers about 75% of the wheels.

Thanks,

Kash

Jojocircus

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 15, 2012
Minnesota
Id do away with the t. A new biowheel should spin all the way around freely & increase airation. An old ( 6 weeks or so ) biowheel should slow down & stutter but still turn all the way.

Sent from my SGH-T499 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

terror27

Piranha
MFK Member
Feb 7, 2012
newark nj
I never uses the bio wheel I like the movement of the water with the standard out port . I run a second hob like ac 30 with sponge and fluval rings and even crushed coral . Or a sponge filter in the tank . I never have a problem with amonia

Sent from my ADR6350 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Kash

Gambusia
MFK Member
Apr 10, 2012
Lynn Haven, Fl.
Did away with the T and both wheels seem to be turning great.

Terror27, right now I don't have access to another HOB, so the 350 is all this tank is gonna get, for a little while at least.

808_fairladyz

Feeder Fish
MFK Member