Slow bass growth

DIFish

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jul 30, 2015
St. Louis
Hello all, I am having some problems with a peacock bass growing extremely slow, and after looking for awhile I cannot figure out why he is not growing at anything close to the rate that others are seeing. To give some background, I got him when he was around 5-6 inches long, and now almost a year later he is only 7-8inches. From reading other posts it seems that most of you are seeing growth of around an inch per month while they are small like this. I was wondering if somebody could point out what I might be doing wrong as this is my first time keeping cichla. For reference, he is in a 600g tank with a ray and other predator fish, the temp is 78F and the parameters are all in check with PH being 7.4 and nitrates sit around 15. I feed once a day at the same time, and feed raw fish when I have it as well as NLS and other pellets. Usually I feed for 2-3 minuets until he doesn't act as aggressive towards the food. I would just keep feeding to see if the growth improves, but eventually little interest is shown, and the arrowana that the tank is shared with will be the only one still eating. Is this small amount of growth normal? Am I missing something? I think the bass is healthy but the slow growth is bothering me. Any suggestions would be great as I would like to see him put on some size and fill out the tank. Here is a picture from a couple months ago but he still looks the same as he really has not grown. basss.JPG

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Possibly a runt because you are doing everything else as far as getting the Pbass to grow.

DIFish

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jul 30, 2015
St. Louis
Possibly a runt because you are doing everything else as far as getting the Pbass to grow.