Stingray tank question

bigmikenyc

Feeder Fish
Jul 13, 2017
Hi,

Any thoughts on the following?
Can I use a shallow tank that is 48 inch in lengths, 18 inch wide and 12 inch high for a marbled Motoro Stingray?

Also, can someone advise on what other equipment i need in order to house one? I am very new to the game and any input for a beginner would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Michael

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Welcome aboard ☺ Sorry but absolutely not and don't let anyone talk you into doing it. I personally want a Motoro ray and only have a 180 gallon aquarium which is 6×2×2 ft.

Reactions: Stanzzzz7

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Welcome aboard ☺ Sorry but absolutely not and don't let anyone talk you into doing it. I personally want a Motoro ray and only have a 180 gallon aquarium which is 6×2×2 ft.

Use the search button and read some of the members threads that keep Freshwater Stingray. The smallest ray is Hystrix which is not a beginners Ray imo. The aquarium dimensions you stated is even to small for the Hystrix.

Bigfishnut

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 28, 2016
Warren PA
Here's a quick rundown on how I keep rays...large tank, mine has a footprint of 8 feet by nearly 4 feet, 2 feet deep. Sump filtration, I use 110 gallons worth of sump tank, 2100 gph pump. Several gallons of biological media...20? I think? Maybe 30. Heaters: in the sump, I use 2 500 watt heaters. Heaters cannot be in the tank. Rays WILL burn themselves. Lighting is not important. Feeding: I feed a ridiculous amount of cut tilapia, raw shrimp, and raw scallops twice per day. Water changes: constantly...I run a drip system and still do 50% waterchanges weekly. Tankmates: best to avoid them till you gain experience keeping rays. Water chemistry is not important. The only parameters to pay attention to are ammonia=0 nitrite=0 nitrate=low as possible temp=78to82 seems to work well for me

bigmikenyc

Feeder Fish
Jul 13, 2017