The BAD Boys- living with wyckioides and wykii

Fishman Dave

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Nov 14, 2015
West Yorkshire
The year - 2006 - i had been keeping fish since 1981 but had never kept an asian red tailed catfish. I had kept the usual redtail and had one at the time. My first ARTC started as a 2" baby however after a year he was big enough to join his namesake in a 500 gal pond with viewing window.
At the time i knew the fish as Mystus Nemurus, so was the confusion surrounding this creature.
I had no experience of this fish and knew no one who had kept one, only the books to go on, and by all accounts this was a fish that made pirahna look friendly. If the books were to be anything to go by, it would not live with anything without an argument and its tank mates loosing bits.
Well, the books couldnt have been more wrong. This fish grew to over 20" in this pond with varius different tank mates over time, none small enough to eat in one go ( im not that trusting) but never argued, fell out or disagreed with anything, including the mystus leucosis, the redtail, a giraffe cat, tinfoils, oscars, giant gourami, plecs, etc. Although all are different families i know.
Since that first ARTC i have upgraded my pond, and have now 3 ARTC brothers, bought three with the plan to give 2 away.
This is a fish that i dont see often in the hobby.
Is it rare, no not by any means, just the opposite, its £4 a fish, sale price, so less than £2 trade. The problen, then is that you have to buy 50 at a time and what business in their right mind want 40 customers bringing back a 9" catfish that has eaten all their community fish - yes i said they can be friendly, but not with anything that will fit in their mouth.
So, when they got to 8", i just could not bear to part with them, they had been raised seperately and now was the test, would they live together?
I had found nothing suggesting anyone had ever tried in confined spaces.