Total Beginner help

Avogel

Exodon
MFK Member
Mar 18, 2017
Cleveland, Ohio
Hello everyone, I have wanted to get into the hobby for years and am finally diving in. I have a few questions: 1. I have an old 20 gallon long, 18 gallon, and 46 gallon tank, which one would be better for me to start off with? 2. would it be better for me to use sand or gravel for it? 3. what would be some good stocking for the tank? I am willing to have fewer fish for bigger fish but want at least 5. Thank you in advance.

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
1) Bigger the better
2)I'll say gravel as sand can get into the filters.
3)I'd go with simple stuff like danios or tetras until you get a little more experience under your belt. Stay away from high priced fish or predatory for awhile.
^
This

heavyhitter

Piranha
MFK Member
Mar 17, 2008
Nebraska
Start with the larger tank of the one with the largest foot print, better for the fish and actually will be easier on you in the long run.
Learn about the nitrogen cycle, this is the most important thing you need to know and maintain.
Choosing a substrate depend on the fish you are keeping. Gravel may or may not be easier. It is easier to vacuum but if also if you use sinking food it can get stuck in the gravel and cause pollution. I like to use a very fine gravel not like sand but like fine rocks. Its good for scaleless fish too. There are very cool fish out there that don't get that big. What are you looking for in a fish that you want to keep, activity, color. behavior etc?

kewpiefishypewpie

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jan 21, 2016
Start with the larger tank of the one with the largest foot print, better for the fish and actually will be easier on you in the long run.
Learn about the nitrogen cycle, this is the most important thing you need to know and maintain.