Using pond pumps for filtration return

Mike Thorn

Exodon
MFK Member
Jun 4, 2017
Hello all. Noob here. Did some searching here in the forums and didn't see anyone addressing this question so I decided to post up.

It occurred to me last week while doing some IT work in the general storage/server room for a medium-sized local hotel, that it might be possible to use a small pool pump as a feed pump for a large aquarium (I'm in the process of building a 300g salt DT with a 125g sump). Most pool pumps I'm seeing are rated for much, much higher GPH than what I'd need (estimating between 2000-3000GPH return). And, by and large, they are cheaper than aquarium-specific brands. The Iwaki I'd been looking at was going to run $400+, and I can get a Hayward SP2310x15 pool pump with a much higher GPH for >$300.

Is there a particular reason why more folks don't use these pumps? Or do they? I'd seen some mention here of these pumps not being rated for continuous duty, but I've not seen any mention of that in any pump documentation so far.

Seems like it would be a solid option for larger tanks, but I'm assuming I'm missing something here.

kendragon

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 23, 2009
For salt water, you need corrosion resistant bearing seals. Also, pool pumps are not pond pumps. I'm assuming you want to use a pool pump on an aquarium. Pool pumps are normally higher amperage which cost more to run 24/7.

Reactions: pacu mom

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
Swimming pool pumps can be used, but you may want to check energy usage, and find some in use to judge volume/sound quality for yourself.
Most aquarium pumps these days are made to be used in low head situations 24/7, so the energy they use can be considerably less. They are also made to be quiet enough to be used in indoor living areas, and not be obtrusive.