Using RO Wastewater For Rays?

tanglovers

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 28, 2007
Michigan
Hi All.

Well after a recent post of mine and finding out tap water would be fine to use with rays I guess this opens up another thought.

I currently have a RO/DI unit as I have a very large saltwater reef aquarium. As a result I waste alot of water in the porcess of cre ating the RO water. Can this waste water be used to do the water changes on a ray tank?

I am in the process of finishing my basement and am running water lines etc to make it easier to do the ray tank on the other side of the basement. The ray tank won't be started for a couple years yet though.

Let me know - Scott

turkeyboy85

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Oct 14, 2007
mn
just from my judgment i wouldnt do it... thats all the crappy stuff in water and puting it directly into a ray tank just doesnt sound like a good idea to me but im not an expert on ro units

tanglovers

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 28, 2007
Michigan
I kind of figured but would like to get some opinions. The waste water I do not beleive is real concentrated with the 'bad' stuff as I beleive I produce 6-7 gallons of waste water for every 1 gallon of RO water. I will check my stats on the unit when I get home tonight to double check this.

The waste water still goes through the sediment and carbon block filters before it is wasted so when I was looking at some peoples drip systems utilizing these it got me to thinking.

Would there be a way to test this waste water for its quality? I mean obviously I could handle the basic pH, ammonia, nitrates, TDS, phosphates but I am thinking more along the lines of chloramines, heavy metals etc.

turkeyboy85

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Oct 14, 2007
mn
you could check it by setting up a tank with it and putting some rosies or something cheap in there....

tanglovers

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 28, 2007
Michigan