What kind of cichlid is this?

Jeditaz

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 25, 2017
I bought this from a local LFS and it was labeled as an electric blue Johanni. After research I learned johanni don't ever have vertical stripes. Please help if anyone has ideas
---
TMA: Mon Dec 04 2017 12:15:30 GMT-0500 (EST).jpg

Jeditaz

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 25, 2017
looks like a johanni to me.
Thank you DR T. I was looking online and some posts say johanni don't have vertical stripes, it's hard to get good info. I was about to return him or her but I thought I would ask first. Also do electric blue johanni go well with demasoni and cynotilapia afra cobue? They are all juvenile

DRteugelsi

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 25, 2016
Ohio
I could be wrong but every one that i have seen has vertical stripes. I'm no expert but as for recommendation. it depends on the size of the tank and a few other factors. I would say they will probably be fine. I would worry a little about con-specific aggression because they do all look similar but I would say you'll be okay. once again i have mostly kept Central and South American cichlids so I am not sure and theres no way to be certain.

Jeditaz

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 25, 2017
I could be wrong but every one that i have seen has vertical stripes. I'm no expert but as for recommendation. it depends on the size of the tank and a few other factors. I would say they will probably be fine. I would worry a little about con-specific aggression because they do all look similar but I would say you'll be okay. once again i have mostly kept Central and South American cichlids so I am not sure and theres no way to be certain.