What size tank do YOU think an MBU should be in...

What size tank should a MATURE MBU be placed in?

• 200G or under is fine...

Votes: 9 10.6%
  • 201G - 300G

Votes: 13 15.3%
  • 301G - 400G

Votes: 12 14.1%
  • 401G - 500G

Votes: 15 17.6%
  • 501G - 600G

Votes: 5 5.9%
  • 601G - 700G

Votes: 3 3.5%
  • 701G - 800G

Votes: 2 2.4%
  • 801G - 900G

Votes: 1 1.2%
  • 901G - 1000G

Votes: 4 4.7%
  • 1000G or more...

Votes: 17 20.0%
  • They don't belong anywhere near a tank...

Votes: 4 4.7%

• Total voters

iwantoneofthose

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 18, 2009
middle of nowhere
*disclaimer: I am no mbu expert nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night*

when we bought our first mbu the lfs owner said eventually it'll grow out to be 30" and will need a 1000g tank. That was around 4 years ago, and while the first puffer didn't make it for very long after a trans pacific move, we've had others since then. Currently, the two we have now we've had for almost 3 years. First tank was a 80g, quickly upgraded to a 180g, and after another move (720 miles away) they are now in a 240g (8x2x2). It's been a year, and they've grown to be around 16" now. After observing them a lot I know that their next tank must be much, much wider. I didn't vote in the poll, cuz I don't really believe that the number of gallons is key. It's more in the footprint, and just by my non scientific observations I think that if they hit 2' long, I'd be happy with a tank 6' wide, and at least 6-8' long. Height I think 18" is good (I can barely reach bottom with a 2' tall tank), which makes it what, somewhere between 400-538 gallons. Granted, I'd like one much bigger (8' wide and 8' long?) but I haven't measured the house we are currently in the process of buying.

I'm sorry this probably isn't the answer you're looking for, but it's what I plan to build when we move in to our new house next month.

PYRU

Probation Member
Probation Member
Apr 8, 2015
SE