Accidental Tang

gunnerx

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 20, 2008
Canada
Background: I'm very new to this hobby. My very first Aquarium was setup on March 20, 2008. My 21 month old daughter really really loved fishes so I decided I would get an Aquarium for her. So I bought a used 29g tank and set it up as a planted tank. Well, after that was done, I was hooked. I was browsing various forums for more information and deals. :D A friend of mine has a SW tank and convinced me to set one up. I found this really nice tank that I liked and decided to buy it for a SW setup.

The seller however was throwing in some fishes with the tank. I had no clue what they were. So off I go researching again. It turns out they were Tangs. After giving it a lot of thought, I decided that the SW setup can wait since I don't have as much money and I will give Tangs a try. So off I go to the forums once more in search of rocks and sand. I found someone selling 130 lbs of rocks for cheap so I snapped that up. Then I read up on 3M Color Quartz and lucked out that the distributor was only 15 mins away. Then came the crazy weekend.

On Saturday, I went to get the sand and some other odds and ends. Got home and started rinsing 150lbs of sand. Those bags certainly fooled me! They look quite small. I was quite impressed at the amount that came out of them.