New 125g build...my first 'monster' tank (and a story!)

rsanz85

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Apr 19, 2016
Montgomery County, MD
I used to frequent the forum (lurking) a LOT when I was in college, around 7 years ago. When I graduated, I moved into a house with my fiance and we started planning the wedding and just kind of fell out of the hobby although I did maintain a tank throughout.

Well, it's been 6 years in the making (I've been thinking/planning for a large tank ever since we moved into our house 6 years ago). We moved in with just a lowly 20g long. I upgraded to a 40g long DIY river tank right away (which makes an appearance in several of the photos below), but it still looked tiny on that wall big wood wall... We needed a monster tank.

Life got in the way. Work ramped up, we did some renovations on the house, had a baby, etc, but still in the back of my mind the seed of a monster tank persisted.

Fast forward 5 years later. I trolled craigslist for about a year trying to find a show-quality tank and furniture. I did buy a very nice 135g acrylic setup with stand, but it had an integral blue background which, while nice, did not match my vision for the tank. I tried building a 3D background to cover the blue, but I didn't size it right and I got frustrated and quit on it. I eventually gave up after another purchase and flip.

2 months after I had given up hope, my parents told me that they were going to get rid of an old antique chest that they had had in their house since before I was born. It's kind of ugly, but it was big enough to fit a 6 foot tank, and it was so hideous that I kind of loved it (in a bulldog is so ugly that they're cute kind of a way...a face only a mother/father could love). I had an attachment to this antique chest, and had fond memories of driving my matchbox cars over the curvy lines of the front carving. I couldn't let them throw it away/give it away.