Best Beginner Fish

Terraphyte Tank Guy

Exodon
MFK Member
Feb 2, 2018
I am new to fish keeping and have never owned an aquarium before. I've been doing a lot of research on the topic but I would like some guidance on what fish I should be choosing. I don't want a fish that will be extremely easy to take care but I also don't want it to be extremely hard. I'm thinking of getting a 75 gallon - 90 gallon tank.

Criteria
- Easy - intermediate to take care of
- Looks good
- Active
ras...

The best beginner fish ever, would be Comet goldfish. These guys are cheap, less than $.25 at most fish stores. They won't get too big, about 3 to 4 inches. They don't require a heater, just set the house temperature to 68 degrees and they're good. You can put several in a 38 to 60 gallon tank with just a couple of dual sponge filters to move the water around and provide oxygen. Most important though, you have to change at least half the tank water every week, no slacking. They eat flakes, pellets and wafers. They're just good looking, hardy fish. I keep a lot of them.

TTG

Terraphyte Tank Guy

Exodon
MFK Member
Feb 2, 2018
I am new to fish keeping and have never owned an aquarium before. I've been doing a lot of research on the topic but I would like some guidance on what fish I should be choosing. I don't want a fish that will be extremely easy to take care but I also don't want it to be extremely hard. I'm thinking of getting a 75 gallon - 90 gallon tank.

Criteria
- Easy - intermediate to take care of
- Looks good
- Active
ras...