Silver Arowana not swimming and darting

Evoyang87

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 11, 2018
Hi all,

I am brand new to the arowana community and a new proud owner of a very young silver arowana. Just yesterday my wife mentioned to me that my arowana has been acting a little weird. Upon observing my arowana, I saw that it was not swimming at all and just chilling in the corner of the tank close to the surface. I also noticed that when he did swim, he would dart across the fish tank only to settle back at the corner of the tank again. Last night I turned off the lights and turned down one of my oxygen generator and he started swimming a little more. This morning I woke up to see him back in his usual not swimming state in the corner of the tank. I tried feeding him bloodworms and he did eat a couple, but he seemed uninterested. He did kind of eat so that makes me feel a little better, but him being inactive does concern me.

Here is my tank layout.
55 gallon tank
Tank mates are: one Gold Severum and one Albino Bichir
Live plants
One Driftwood
Two heaters (unsure of the brand but will update once I get back home)
(update to the layout soon since I am posting this while I am at work)

I have had my silver arowana in the tank for about 3 weeks now and he is just now acting up. Something I want to mention is that he did eat a couple feeder goldfish the day before he started acting really weird. I am factoring that that might be the issue . I really want him to thrive so any help or insight would be great!!!

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Hi all,