900 gallon plywood shark tank build

nbrin

Feeder Fish
Apr 19, 2020
Yea i sanded between each coat. I would have had to take a week off work and sleep to have 1 continuous layer of epoxy. I cannot give you any recommendation as to plywood thickness as this is my first time doing this and am no expert. I would guess 3/4 to 1" for that depth but try looking for other builds with similar depth to yours. You can also look into fiberglass plywood hot tubs for some ideas
Did not think about the hot tub. Good call. However I think I'll go with a marine plywood shell (it is stiffer then normal plywood and I've worked with wood for the past 15 years ) and 2 coats of 450 gsm fibre mat with an extra layer on the edges (somehting like the King od DIY did a few years back but going all fibreglass instead of the pond armour as locally it is not common to find and ridiculously exensive). Thanks for your help and best of luck with your tank.

Reactions: dingodan

Devaji108

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 8, 2020
Hey did you ever find your ocean rock? if not check out bulk reef supply they have quite a large selection of dry ocean ocean rock.
amazing build! glad to see it coming along.

dingodan

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
May 11, 2014
vancouver bc
Hey did you ever find your ocean rock? if not check out bulk reef supply they have quite a large selection of dry ocean ocean rock.
amazing build! glad to see it coming along.