75 Gallon Stocking Ideas

Marine Iguana

Exodon
MFK Member
Sep 19, 2017
Berwick, PA
Howdy all! I've been lurking on the forum for a while but haven't formally posted. I've been keeping fish for most of my life. For the last 8 years I've focused on saltwater reefs, but since starting college I've found it to be a little too expensive for my current lifestyle. I've been dabbling with planted tanks for the last 2 years, and really like them, but I'm looking to set up something a little different.

I have a spare 75 gallon tank sitting in my basement that I'm going to do leak tests on, and if it holds I'm looking at setting up a "Mini Monster" community. I'm not overly familiar with the diversity of monster fish available, so I wanted to ask the community if they have any ideas?

Some fish that I've been looking at are "smaller" bichers (small being a relative term) and spiny eels. I also like the look of hujeta gar, but don't know if they would be appropriate to house with other fish. Any suggestions for stocking spp. and quantity would be appreciated!

I also had a second question- looking at doing a sump for filtration, I have a spare Mag5 and Mag7 pump which I've used for saltwater before, would they produce too much flow for a Mini Monster community?

Thank you for any suggestions in advance, I look forward to becoming a part of the community!

-N

magpie

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jun 4, 2016
Oregon
Smaller polys that I recommend are Senegal (active), Delhezi (cool looking, often active), Palmas (attractive), and Polli (active).
Mokelembembes are attractive but can be more shy depending on the fish. Retropinnis and Buettekoferi are notorious for being shy.

There are also rope fish, which should be kept in a group of 3+

All of those guys need a very tight/secure lid with zero gaps.

Ctenopoma Acutirostre is a nice tankmate for these guys, as are Congo tetras and African butterflies. I'm going with an african theme for you. :)