Hey i'm new here

Scrubbie

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 22, 2016
Europe
Hey there
i am completely new to the aquarium hobby and i would like to setup an aquarium.
Can i start with an 10 gallon breeder with a Eheim Classic 150 and a 50 watt heater.
I am going to make a stand with 2x4's, and it is going to be in my bedroom.
I love puffers i think that for stock a dwarf puffer and of course a few otocinclus.

Last edited:

Drstrangelove

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Oct 21, 2012
San Francisco
Hey, hi and welcome!!

I was with you right up until the puffers. My first tank (and my son's first tank were 10-gallons.) Everything up to that point seemed fine. Others can chime in on that fish selection since I have no experience with it.

10-gallons is a nice starter tank, but it's relatively small, so the key thing to consider is that it is easy to over heat or get chilled quickly because of the amount of water. Make sure to place the tank away from direct sunlight and no where near an air vent. The area of the room needs to be stable temperature wise.

Also make sure it's not in a spot where it can easily be bumped or tipped. A 10-gallon tank on a stand isn't that heavy, so it can get tipped or moved easier than it may seem, and besides it obviously being bad if it gets knocked over, the fish won't like living in a house that is regularly jolted.

Last edited:
Reactions: millerkid519

millerkid519

Aimara
MFK Member
Feb 16, 2015
stratford ontario canada
Fat Homer Fat Homer can help you out there. Sounds good to me tho you could probably get a couple dwarf puffers in there. Oyos can be difficult to keep they are known for out of the blue just dieing with no reason. I will tell you tho you are jumping into some more difficult fish to keep right away. Do lots and lots of research (while cycling the tank) before you buy any fish

Fish Tank Travis

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Feb 28, 2016
Dayton, OH