I need help please!!!

AVALover5498

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 24, 2007
Sioux City, IA
Ok, So I'm kinda new to freshwater and I'm so glad I found this site. I used to be really big into reefs and It's costing me way to much so I'm going to be making the upgrade to a freshwater predator tank. So, I need your help. I'm going to be ordering a 300 Gallon tank from glasscages.com within the next month and I need some help with the setup. Let's talk about what I want to keep first. I'm hopefully going to be able to get my hands on 3 tropical gars in the near future and I want them to be the focal point of the tank. I also want to keep some peacock bass and a couple dats. I might also try a smaller catfish species.

The first thing I want to know is what type of filtration I should have. I've been looking into getting this brand of canister filter. http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Product/Prod_Display.cfm?pcatid=3602&N=2004+22777 Is this a good brand? If so, which one should I get and how many? Now, I need to find some cheap black sand. If anyone knows of a place that I could score some I would be very greatful. Lighting with this tank isn't going to be that important since I'm not going to be keeping live plants. I wanna do a kind of spot light effect. I was going to buy a couple brooder lamps and put them in my canopy and put them on the spot I want to highlight Like driftwood, rocks, ect. Is this a good idea? Or should I just stick with some strip lights? Also, I need to know about flow. In a reef aquarium you HAVE to have good flow, or your tank will fail. Do I need to add some powerheads or will the filter be enough flow?

I think that pretty much covers what I would like to know. Just keep in mind that I'm a jobless high school student so I'm limited to what I can afford right now. I hope to hear from you guys in the future. I just wanna thank you guys for the website and all the information that it's provided me with.

Best Regards,
Chris Seibold:)

AquataHolic420