I started a planted tank for the first time.

PanAntV

Gambusia
MFK Member
Aug 23, 2014
North Carolina
LFS sold me potted plants and I couldn't get the stone wool off completely so I planted with them on it. Honestly its a good amount. Is it bad for a tank Im planning on putting fish in soon? Is there a proper or really good method for removing it? Should I pull the plants up and replant them after removing them? Please let me know what your opinions are. Im a huge rookie when it comes to plants. I didn't do as much research as I should have but the damage is already done. LEt me know what you guys think. Thanks.

fisheatfish

Aimara
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2008
OC, CA
Would help if we knew what kind of plants you've got. Pics?

Best way to learn is by doing and learning from the mistakes I've made is invaluable. My first go was very costly.

Reactions: PanAntV

PanAntV

Gambusia
MFK Member
Aug 23, 2014
North Carolina
Would help if we knew what kind of plants you've got. Pics?

Best way to learn is by doing and learning from the mistakes I've made is invaluable. My first go was very costly.

So far amazon swords, java ferns, the wool is on dwarf baby tears and dwarf hair grass. Theres also a purple red plant in the tank I don't know the name it just looks cool.

fisheatfish

Aimara
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2008
OC, CA
Not necessary to remove the wool entirely...the new growth is more important. Dwarf baby tears & hair grass aren't exactly beginner plants. Hope you have good lighting.

PanAntV

Gambusia
MFK Member
Aug 23, 2014
North Carolina
Not necessary to remove the wool entirely...the new growth is more important. Dwarf baby tears & hair grass aren't exactly beginner plants. Hope you have good lighting.