Opinions on keeping a RBP

Prex

Feeder Fish
Feb 5, 2016
I have a cycled 29 gallon tank atmo, it has fake plants, rocks, natural gravel etc and has open spaces as well as shaded areas. The filter is a penguin 200b, which a strong filter for this tank, and filters lots of water. I have lots of experience keeping other freshwater fish, and currently have another tank which is 25g low tech planted community tank just to give you the idea I am familiar with basics. For my 29g I currently have one RBP baby, just about a inch long, he is very cool, and Im feeding him rn high protein flakes, with bloodworms every other day. When hes bigger in a month or two, il start giving him hikari cichlid gold as his staple in his diet, as well as shrimp, tilapia, that kind of stuff every other day, to keep it varied, and maybe every few weeks or so a live feeder fish. I have researched them a lot but a lot of the info is cloudy, and want some of your guys opinions on this who may have experience with them (first time owner of piranha). I plan on keeping the piranha alone in this tank for life, and would do 10-12% water changes weekly, with my filter I mentioned above running, and giving a mixed diet, would this be ok? Im also wondering what you guys feed your piranhas, and what feeders you use if any, Goldfish is abundantly available and cheap and some of the lfs's have a bunch of them and they seem to be in good condition . Im aware of the whole Thiamine deal and parasites but I know lots of people feed them as treats to their piranhas, would this be a big no no, and I should just use livebeares for feeders, or are the cheap and convenient goldfish ok as a treat? I understand the tank is on the small side, however at my lfs the worker mentioned he knew multiple people maintaining A single RBP in 20 gals and that the fish grew to 8 inches and lived many years healthy. With this said I really appreciate the beauty of piranhas and their chill nature, and don't want it to have **** life