Preventing Juvenile Red Terror Savagery

Serpentine

Piranha
MFK Member
May 17, 2018
I have an opportunity to get my hands on some genuine M. festae Red Terrors and have a bit of an odd dilemma.

I am not new to freshwater fish or SA cichlids, but this is my first time out with Red Terrors.

Aside from admiring their beauty and "cichlittude," I have a specific purpose for one... as a junkyard guard fish. I breed angelfish, dwarf cichlids and others along with inverts. I have a large industrial rack where tanks are being moved to save space. Problem is, cats and greyhounds keep molesting the fish and there isn't another room available (I have filled those up with snakes).

The idea is to put a single female in a 65 gallon tank right at pet eye level. Someone goes out of their way to harass the fish, someone gets a large fish with a mouthful of sharp teeth telling them where to go.

I can keep a single female in this setup, but not a male. The fish being offered are 1.5 inches and not yet sexable. So the idea is to get a small group of babies, raise them up just long enough to tell who's who, then keep a single female and sell the rest.

Question: How do I prevent piscine murder until they reach that stage? I have been told that they don't really develop major aggression issues until they reach about 6 inches, and if I'm not mistaken they are sexable at around 4 inches. True? Or do I separate right from the get-go? Can someone set me on the correct track?

Reactions: Deadliestviper7

Deadliestviper7

The Necromancer
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2016
I have an opportunity to get my hands on some genuine M. festae Red Terrors and have a bit of an odd dilemma.

I am not new to freshwater fish or SA cichlids, but this is my first time out with Red Terrors.