UV sterilizer, good or bad?

Antares

Feeder Fish
May 24, 2017
Hey guys, i'm new to the fish keeping hobby. I was thinking of getting a uv sterilizer. I had gone through a number of articles. The companies say that they r an absolutue must, some fish keepers agree, some don't. Can i have some help on the subject?

FriedFlowerHornFillet

Piranha
MFK Member
Aug 26, 2014
Toledo Ohio
Welcome to the forum! What type of fish do you have?
How big is your tank? How often do you clean your tank and do water changes? UV sterilizers do work-I use them at work but not at home. So yeah not an absolute must. Used in conjunction with top of the line dual canister filters allows units to go longer between services. I don't have those kinds of issues at home so I don't really need one I just change my water regularly.

MrsE88

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 9, 2017
I only use one in my pond outside. It gets a lot of direct sun so without it I have solid green water. I prefer to see my fish;) So in that case it is a must for me.

Inside I've never had an issue with tank water going green. Even with no plants. And my tanks get direct morning sun and indirect sun the rest of the day. So for tanks I say there isn't a need, in my case anyway.

Keep in mind the only algae it kills is free floating, not the kind that grows on glass and decor.

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
Other than the free floating algae they help eliminate, UV sterilizers kill bacteria that flow thru them, but only those that flow thru the light at a slow enough rate to damage their organelles.
They do "not" any bacteria on the fish itself, they do not any bacteria or protozoa on the substrate of other phages that live as sessile biofilm.
They are not a substitute for a quarantine tank, they also do not kill many protozoa with a hard enough cell wall, unless those protozoa spends serious amount of time in the kill zone under a strong enough light.