What am I getting myself into

Beardedvillain_cpt

Feeder Fish
Sep 9, 2018
Cape Town, South Africa
Hey there forumites

I'm joining you guys all the way from Cape Town, South Africa

I've pretty much been into fish keeping since 7 years old so I have some good experience with regular community tanks,planted tanks aswell as 11 years of reef keeping.

However recently I've met some monster fish keepers not to far from me at a lfs and to my suprise I did not know these guys existed this side of the world lol. I also started following some IG pages with monster fish and some you tube vloggers like Zac catchem, joey DIY etc etc and that's when all he'll broke loose in my mind.

I now currently have a standard 3ft very low tech planted tank breeding some guppies and also have some baby polypterus sennegalus and polypterus delhezi in there and then above that I have a standard 4ft growout tank housing my 2 oscars which I have since tiny babies ,now about 5-6 inches aswell as a 6 inch polypterus sennegalus, a red tail catfish about 3 inches, 2 white iridescent catfish about 2-3 inches, a white spectre Lobster about 5 inches and 16 columbian red fin tetras.

After noticing the rather quick growth patterns of these fish I went out and got myself a (1600cmx700cmx600cm) 167galon (678 litre) tank. Now I know this is not ideal as a long term but I'm pretty sure I can house them for a long time before getting a final settling tank or possibly a exotic pond

Am I crazy.. that's the question my wife keeps asking me as for as long as I know, this is not a common practice here in my side of the world,unless there are guys hiding it away for there own pleasure, or I'm simply not looking on the right places

I'd appreciate some feedback on thoughts and ideas on keeping these fish happy and what to and not to expect etc as I'm myself trying to figure out if I'm on the right track and if I'll be ok long term in this particular style fish keeping

Cheers for now
Beardedvillain_cpt