Willyy

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 2, 2015
Milwaukee
So I am a student an I can only get to my tank about 1-2 times a week during the school year, but I wanted something to grow out some decent size fish with little maintenance. As of now I am using a 25GPD drip system filtered by two 10inch chloramine busters. Comes out less than 140TDS. Sump is a 40b with lots of sponges for mechanical and a cubic foot of K1 fluidized by powerheads. I have a 50w UV sterilizer fed by a 120GPH powerhead to destroy hormones and parasites, it then feeds into a 40 gallon bucket with 6 inches of sand (external deep sand bed). I also use floating and rooted plants supplemented by a gentle 5lb CO2 system to facilitate growth. In the end it ends up around 180 gallons with the 125 display tank. Im happy with it and its worked great so far
Stocking:
1 WC Rotkeil Severum -7"
1 Santoperca Leucictica 7"
4 Geophagus Abailos 4"
1 G. Dicrozoter 2"
3 Apisto Eurthuras 2"
3 Leapoldi angels 3"
5 WC scalare angels 3"
some various tetras emporers and glolight (took out the ugly koi angel)IMG_0454.jpg IMG_0429.jpg IMG_0341.jpg Pinstripe Dambas I started but took out when they started nipping angel fins.IMG_0340.jpg IMG_0334.jpg DIY overflow IMG_0339.jpg UV sterilizer feeds IMG_0564.PNG Deep sand bed with syringe doserIMG_0336.jpgIMG_0311.jpg (Took out the ugly koi angel)

IMG_0332.jpg

cjdesmit

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Sep 16, 2010
USA, Indiana
Looks great. Definitely a well thought out setup that should be low maintenance.

What are you studying in school? I am guessing something science based..

Willyy

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 2, 2015
Milwaukee
Nursing with a bio minor hahaha, yea I may be lost. I figured nursing is a solid job that doesn’t suck too much. I’d make the switch to freshwater science or icthyology but I do t know where the money comes from is those fields.

Reactions: paulW

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee